Exposed skin sightings

The weather in Chicago in March is a big tease.

One day, it can be 65 and sunny, only to reach a high of 25 degrees the next day. I know this because it happened last week. I wore heels and a light jacket one day and was sporting winter boots and a coat the following.

Take note of the lack of boot or sock in the picture. Happy day of weather.

Take note of the lack of boot or sock. Happy day of weather.

It was 56 degrees today, according to my widget. Taking advantage of the warmer temperatures on a leisurely stroll, I saw something I hadn’t seen in Chicago in months—kneecaps.

I also witnessed the following:

  • One man wearing a tank top
  • Two people wearing shorts
  • One brave lady in a skirt, no tights or leggings
  • A dozen or so short-sleeve-shirt-wearers

Winters here are so bad that by the time March rolls around, Chicagoans will look for the first excuse to expose their bare skin. It’s funny. When the weather peaks above 50 degrees, that seems to be when clothing is shed. It’s the opposite of what happens in fall. The same temperature in September or October warrants the addition of layers and the adoption of jackets and scarves.

With warmer weather also comes a shift in behavior. People don’t look pissed off walking down the street. They walk at a more leisurely pace. You might even hear laughter.

I’m encouraged by this brave behavior. Spring (hopefully) is in the near future. Besides the wardrobe changes, I saw several previews of spring, shown below.

Ice cream headlined at local cafes.

Ice cream headlined at local cafes.

Outdoor seating debuted on Division St.

Outdoor seating debuted on Division St.

A crowd of people sans jackets, and sleeves in some cases. Some guy also thought I was checking him out since I was taking a photo. Oops.

A crowd of people who abandoned coats and sleeves. Some guy also thought I was checking him out since I was taking the photo. Oops.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, fashion, urban behavior, weather

2 responses to “Exposed skin sightings

  1. Brandon

    Yes, I do love summer time when clothes start coming off…next time you get a post like this…you really need to get some photos of cleavage! Oh…summer’s favorite treat…am I right Joe…you stylish devil you…

  2. Sorry, Brandon…it’s not that kind of blog 😉

Leave a Reply

