Fancy ladies

Recently, I was invited to partake in a little tea party celebration at The Drake for my friend Emi, who recently got engaged. Prior to this invitation, The Drake intimidated me. Most likely due to the fact that it’s located on Michigan Avenue, right next to Chanel and Louis Vuitton. I thought The Drake was reserved for only fancy ladies. Well, if so, this was my chance to be one of those fancy ladies. Sans white gloves.

Hello, gorgeous. Not pictured is the delicate little fountain running below this enormous flower arrangement

Hello, gorgeous. Not pictured is the delicate little fountain running below this enormous flower arrangement.

The blushing bride-to-be, Emi with Alexandra. Two good ole IU gals.

The blushing bride-to-be, Emi with Alexandra. Two good ole IU gals.

A whole table of fancy ladies. Did I mention I took these photos with my non-3Gs iPhone?

A whole table of fancy ladies. Did I mention I took these photos with my non-3Gs iPhone?

A delightful spread of pastries and sandwiches. Notice the lack of bothersome crusts on the sandwiches.

A delightful spread of pastries and sandwiches. Notice the lack of bothersome crusts on the sandwiches. The swan cream puff also kills me.

Wild blueberry tea, thank you very much.

Wild blueberry tea, thank you very much.

As proof that I belong in the ranks of fancy ladies, “Fancy” by Reba McIntyre came on my shuffle as I was writing this. (Please don’t ask why “Fancy” is in my iTunes library in the first place.) Now, I need someone to have a birthday or get engaged STAT so I can have an excuse to be fancy again soon.

1 Comment

Filed under attractions, Chicago, city life

One response to “Fancy ladies

  1. Fancy indeed! I want to have tea and sandwiches. Wearing the green bird hat and listening to Reba on the ipod.

Leave a Reply

