Friends do let friends drink and shop

I love grocery shopping.

This seems surprising considering that since I spent countless high school days and college vacations in a grocery store as your friendly, local check-out girl. As it turned out, I actually liked that job. The combination of food and shooting the shit suited me. Go figure.

So, you can imagine my elation when I discovered that the new Whole Foods in Lincoln Park combines three of my loves: food, shooting the shit and drinking wine. Yes, wine! I could honestly spend hours in this place. And my whole paycheck. Wait, I think I’ve done both.

Is this a wine bar, you ask? Why yes...I indulged in a flight of wine while doing this...

Is this a wine bar, you ask? Why yes...I indulged in a flight of wine while doing this...

The grocery cart. Featuring joe's art direction and my blurry photographic style.

Grocery shopping. Featuring Joe's art direction and my blurry photographic style.

Did I mention you can pair a cheese flight with your wine flight at this wine bar within a supermarket?

I should mention that there’s also a coffee bar, a bar that serves beer and an incredible food court. Speaking of the food court…

Beyond the four salad bars, there's a sandwich shop, carving station, taqueria, drive-in type diner, italian bistro and sushi bar. Just try to make a quick decision about dinner.

Beyond the four salad bars, there's a sandwich shop, carving station, taqueria, drive-in type diner, Italian bistro and sushi bar. Just try to make a quick decision about dinner.

Now do you see why it’s easy to spend hours in this place? If I had the time and the cash, I’d spend every weekend in this organic mecca. It’s like dying and going to food and beverage heaven.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, city life, food, restaurants, shopping

2 responses to “Friends do let friends drink and shop

  1. This is the most amazing grocery store I have ever been in. I don’t even like grocery shopping, but I would actually live there if someone let me.

  2. Jo

    WOW. I’m not allowed to go food shopping unsupervised as it is in our WholeFoods…I can only imagine how many hours (and money) I’d waste in this mecca. Please don’t take me here when I visit…or maybe just once…

Leave a Reply

