Rut, interrupted.

It’s hard to believe that, in a city where there as many things to do as people to do them, you can fall in a rut.

Even though it’s not winter, it feels possible.

Work. Mindless tasks. Sleep. Repeat.

I’m not sure if this is the case with you or not, but I’m not good at juggling. I’m the kind of person who throws all three balls in the air at once, focuses intently on one and lets the other two fall on the ground. I can only do one thing well at a time. Plus, the weather has been so gloomy lately, it makes me want to curl up on the couch and deplete my Netflix queue.

But.

It’s great to be reminded that everyday is not the same. This little strip of landscaping  between work and the gym helps me keep things in check.

Which is filled with tulips (I love) in the spring

Last spring, it was filled with tulips (I heart). The one renegade red tulip among its yellow counterparts kills me. Also, notice how sunny it is?

Petunias in the summer....

Petunias in the summer...still sunny.

Imagine the pleasant surprise when I was snapped out of repetitiveness a few days ago with:

Fall mums (I love).

Fall mums (I love).

The fall colors I crave so much: a splash of crimson and marigold to dilute the gray.

Also, I will be here on Sunday. That helps.

Picture 1

There you have it: rut, interrupted.

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago, city life, culture, doldrums, neighborhoods

4 responses to “Rut, interrupted.

  1. Pingback: Rut « MegaGood

  2. Lucky lady. I am in a DEEP rut. It is bad.

  3. Anne

    ohhhhh, envy….

    Itty bitty favor: can you pack up some vitamin D and bring it back for my sun-starved soul, pretty please?

  4. Pingback: Let the good light in « Jo.::InSeattle::.

Leave a Reply

