Missed connection

I am not a sap.

However, I am a sucker for an absurdly romantic gesture. Cue Dirty Dancing and the “No one puts Baby in the corner” scene. Or the Pretty Woman scene where Edward defies his fear of heights to climb up the fire escape and “rescue” Vivian. Yeah, I’m can be a girl about such movie moments.

I’m even a sucker for Missed Connections on craigslist. Funny, sweet or fake, they get me every time. I like to imagine that if I were single (no disrespect at all to Mr. Davis), I’d be destined to meet someone via Missed Connections. And the world would stop once we saw each other at the fountain in Wicker Park (the meet-up spot in my fictional Missed Connection ad).

Given I’m such a sucker, you can imagine my elation when I saw this romantic gesture, a real-life Missed Connection, if you will.

This flyer was posted up and down Franklin Street in River North, perhaps near the scene of the Missed Connection. I hope Lauren is truly addicted to love, Robert Palmer style, and she e-mails Victor the Spartan.

Or else I’m just a sucker for fiction.

53 Comments

Filed under city life, downtown, random, urban behavior

53 responses to “Missed connection

  1. Someone else blogged about this too—and got a note from Victor detailing how the night went down. I think I’d rather imagine it in my own head… 🙂

    http://www.chicagonow.com/blogs/jane-of-all-trades/2010/11/the-apple-of-my-red-eye-help-victor-find-lauren.html

  2. so sweet, thank you for sharing! this definitely brightened my day!

  3. I LOVE missed connections. Sometimes they inspire short stories like the one I wrote the other day!
    http://denwrites.com/2010/11/03/eats/

  4. …and I thought I was the only one who trolls my local Missed Connections for sappy stories! 😉

    Please keep us “posted” if Lauren the Accountant responds!

  5. I love missed connections! I have a friend that writes found poetry using missed connections.

  6. I wonder how many e-mails Victor will get from people who aren’t Lauren as a result of this sign. I think I would have set up a new e-mail address (one that didn’t include my last name) if I were going to try something like this. Either way, this makes Victor seem like quite a stud! I think I’d like to date a guy like that.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  7. It's just a web site man!

    Hmmm…movie in the making? Or is it too “You’ve got mail”?

    http://ginzotalk.wordpress.com/

  8. I used love to to read those missed connection ads in The Reader. I always wondered if any of those couples connected later on.

  9. Joe

    Everyone deserves a Victory The Spartan in their life…

  10. How sweet! I hope they DO hook up and it’s a Happy Ending!

    evelyngarone.com

  11. Tracy López

    I loved missed connections, too. You E-mail Victor and ask for an update 🙂

    BTW – you reminded me of two films I love, which I think you’ll like too

    http://fragg.me/video/signs

  12. Deryn

    Missed Connections are my secret escape at work when my brain needs a break (or is just craving one!). It’s nice to know that sometimes these things really happen!

    http://www.habitualme.wordpress.com

  13. This is toooooo sad.

    It needs a huge internet campaign, a missed connection can only lead to regret.

    cheshire house removals

  14. cookiemomma

    I agree, I think I would rather not know how it really turned out and make my own ending! Thanks for sharing

  15. SocialAnswers

    You know what? I think I am a sucker of love myself…and the biggest one at it. But our hearts is all we have and our belief in true love and serendipity are the only things that have the potential to reshape the world and make it a better place..

  16. I love missed connections too! Though some are weird and or creepy. I wonder if people find each other on there?

  17. Haha, I love this! AND I love missed connections. Maybe one day someone will write about me running through Central Park. (Where my fictional missed connection would be.)

  18. Such a touching story, I hope it works out for the best, but i’m a softee at heart so…

  19. Love this .. and missed connections. You inspired the romantic in all of us with this story; nice job! 🙂
    emjayandthem.wordpress.com

  20. “Missed connections” can be sweet. It can also be creepy. This was not the latter, thankfully. haha

  21. valentinedee

    would love to know what happened with this?

    valentine defrancis

  22. This is great!! I hope she finds her Spartan Man! Missed connections… just the thought is quite romantic.

  23. I’m already trying to figure out who will star in the movie.

  24. That is so sweet 🙂 I must say Dirty Dancing is my second favorite movie after Pride and Prejudice 🙂

  25. sayitinasong

    How cute. I want to know if Victor ever hooked up with Lauren again!! :o)

  26. vbozek

    Wow i am amazed at the effort and attention friendly strangers are putting towards me finding this girl. Chances are by now most of the signs are down so its up to word-of-mouth now. Even if she decides shes not into me at least i can know i tried. You can find me on facebook or through email. Have a great weekend and let everyone know about this!

  27. Wow I’m really out of the loop. I’ve never even heard of “missed connections.” Ya learn something new every day! 🙂

  28. My dog Pookie once posted this Missed Connection ad just to get my attention —

    Me, little dark headed boy. You tall striking blonde Greek girl . We once shared rainy nights in a chair together reading books and eating no-salt, low fat popcorn, with no butter. I loved your quirky healthy eating habits. I miss you. Let’s pop some corn again together soon.

    Love and Fishes — Pookie

    I loved your post!

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    PS Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  29. Pingback: Missed connection (via Notes on Urban Behavior) « Homediscountshop's Blog

  30. Such a sweet little story. Hope it ends well. If not, the guy deserves someone wonderful for all the effort he’s put into finding this one girl he believes to be so special!

  31. Loved the post. I’d rather make up my own ending for Victor than hear about what really happens. Unless, of course, he is a family friend …then I’d love to be invited to the wedding!

    Congrats on being pressed.

    http://workingtechmom.wordpress.com

  32. Kim Pugliano

    I too love missed connections, even if sometimes they seem a bit stalker-esque. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!

  33. kinda risky posting e-mail all over the place…but then i’m a jaded new yorker…now, but it wasn’t always the case…

  34. me

    i can’t lie. i check missed connectiosn hoping someone will post one for me. never happens, and i don’t know what i’d do if it did, but… okay. i also do it to kill time at work.

  35. Oh! That is just the sweetest thing! The cynic in me is betting he gets a lot of spam though…

  36. i tried that once. *sigh* nothing happened, and a month later i moved. now i live 7,000 miles away.
    ah well, best of luck to victor~

  37. this is adorable! i actually found a missed connection on craigslist about me one day! shocking! i read them, like you, because i’m a hopeless romantic- i replied to the guy, thanking him for his compliments, telling him i was taken, and what a gentleman he was in return!

    good guys are still out there, and you can find the odd one lingering on craiglist hoping for the good girl they let slip by 🙂

  38. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!! I am a HUGE sucker myself…love 🙂 Maybe I should try that missed connection thingy..hmmm

  39. A romantic, a romantic sucker. All this shows that the people are wonderful, but when a silly, but when the pursuit of romantic

  40. I am so invested in Victor’s plight, and all I saw was this picture! I wish I could have seen something like this and/or Victor would post more flyers updating us if he did find her…

  41. I love this sort of thing too. Thanks for sharing!

  42. There are a few missed connections that will stay in my heart forever.

Leave a Reply

