Lunch in another (not so far away) land

Yesterday, Elaine, my good pal/running partner/former and current co-worker, invited me out for lunch adventure to Roly Poly. I was quite obliged to help her use an expiring Groupon.

As it turned out, Roly Poly was a bit of a hike from our office. Cutting through the misty, balmy air on the several block walk  for rolled sandwiches and baked chips felt like trekking to another country.

And it almost was! We ended up in this tiny nook on LaSalle, somewhere between Chicago and an old European city.

With its charming wrought-iron entryway and cobblestone streets that were flanked by hints of modern architecture, I was swept momentarily onto a Parisian side street.

Like this one.

Well, I can dream, right?

Speaking of treks, Chicago and Paris, I read this interesting article today in the Chicago Magazine that compares the saturation of public transportation in Chicago vs. Paris. I’ll give you two guesses as to which city won that one.

3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, city life, culture

3 responses to “Lunch in another (not so far away) land

  1. Casey

    Oh my goodness!!! This is Chicago?

  2. Joe

    I was thinking the same thing Casey…where the hell is this side street?

  3. That’s lovely! I didn’t know that was there.

Leave a Reply

