You probably think this blog is about you

Ever notice how Chicagoans are really into songs and TV shows about Chicago?

You probably won’t  admit to it, but I will. I’ve watched shows simply because they’re set in my city.

Exhibits A and B:

My Boys

This show wasn’t great, but it wasn’t bad. If it was on, I’d give it a half an hour, if only for Jim Gaffigan and the chance to call out cheesy Cubs references.

via The TV Legion

The League

I first watched an episode as research for work. For real. It’s pretty hilarious in an Always Sunny-wanna-be-but-with-fantasy-sports-kinda-way. Plus, get this…it’s set in Chicago.

The list continues. Like Happy Endings, Boss, Mike and Molly and Whitney and 10 others that probably didn’t make it past Sweeps Week.

I don’t need to tell you there have been a million shows, songs, books and movies focused around the Windy City. For example, just today my ice cream making BFF Lisa sent me this song, aptly named “Chicago” by North Highlands. We’ve just hit the tip of the iceberg, my friends.

Are we so vain that we never get sick of watching and hearing about ourselves or our city?

Nah. I’d like to think there’s a thrill in catching a glimpse of a familiar skyline. And a sense of pride in seeing our city (however inaccurately) depicted.

In the same way that people in Seattle loovvvveee Fraiser and people in New York loovvvveee Sex and the City, right?

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago, pop culture, random

4 responses to “You probably think this blog is about you

  1. good one you! I do the same thing with SF and Boston. I’m a sucker for “I left my heart in SF”, “Dirty Water” and “Shipping out to Boston”. p.s. do you like the North Highlands song? My new fav album.

  2. I totally watched My Boys in part because I unironically loved it and in part because it was set in Chicago. I felt the same way about “Traffic Light” and “Happy Endings.”

  3. HAH! This is totally true! I watched my boys and now occasionally switch on underemployed (awful show) just to shout out “HEY! the Red line! Is that my stop!?” oh not even close…

Leave a Reply

